top of page

Lentil & Mushroom Shepherd's Pie

This recipe will change your life. Or maybe it won't, but it will make life a lot more yummy!! And your tummy AND taste buds will thank you because, as I'm sure you've guessed if you've followed me for a while, this recipe is healthy and it is SO GOOD!

I mean, just look at this photo if you don't believe me...

I bet you're salivating right about now ;)

If you thought it was amazing that this Lentil & Mushroom Shepherd's Pie is healthy and super delicious, well, I've got another shocker for you! This recipe is very easy. Like, I've-only-cooked-once-or-twice-in-my-life easy. It's pretty much fool proof. Except for the oven part, but you'll only burn it if you totally forget that you put something in the oven and leave it for several hours...which I have total faith that you won't do. Anywayyyy....

I couldn't believe that a simple, Medical-Medium-approved vegan shepherd's pie was so hard to find! So I got inspiration from a few recipes I found on the internet and came up with my own! This recipe is entirely gluten-free, soy-free, corn-free, alcohol-free, vinegar-free, sugar-free, nut-free...so if you have food allergies like I do and are doing the healing protocol from the Medical Medium book, you'll be able to enjoy a warm, super satisfying meal that won't leave you feeling tired, bloated or sick! YAY!!

I think I've sold you on the recipe now, so let's get into it!

Lentil & Mushroom Shepherd's Pie

1.5 cups dried lentils, rinsed

4 cups water or vegetable stock

1 red onion, diced

4 cloves garlic, minced

2 tsp organic Italian seasoning* (oregano, thyme, basil, rosemary, marjoram)

2-3 celery stalks, diced

4 carrots, diced

8 oz mushrooms, sliced lengthwise into quarters

4-5 tomatoes, diced

salt + pepper to taste

10 Yukon Gold potatoes (about 3 lbs)

*mine is from Costco

In a large pot, sauté the onion, celery and carrots for a few minutes, until the onion is translucent. Add garlic, Italian seasoning, tomatoes and mushrooms. Sauté for 6-8 minutes until tomatoes are breaking down and the mushrooms begin to soften. Add lentils, water or stock and simmer for 35-40 minutes. (You can also make the filling ahead of time and let simmer for an hour or so) Salt and pepper to taste.

For the potatoes, slice into quarters and place in a large pot. Cover with water and bring to a boil. Once boiling, reduce heat to simmer and cover for 20-30 minutes (test with a fork to make sure they are tender). Drain and mash. Salt and pepper to taste. If they seem dry, feel free to add a little bit of water at a time and mash again. Repeat until they are your desired consistency.

Preheat oven to 425. Transfer lentil filling to a large oven-safe dish (I used a 9x13 dish). Top with mashed potatoes. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the top is lightly browned. Allow to sit for 10-15 minutes before serving. Top with fresh herbs.

Serves 6-8

Recent Posts

Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page