top of page

LOADED VEGAN NACHOS

I've wanted to make vegan nachos with homemade potato chips FOR A VERY LONG TIME!! And I finally did it!!! AND WHY OH WHY DID I WAIT SO LONG....

Because they were E P I C .

Just look!

You're probably super ready for the recipe now that you see what it looks like, so I'm not going to tease you.

Ingredients

Chips:

4 Yukon Gold potatoes, mandolin sliced (about 1/4 inch thick)

salt + pepper to taste

Taco Meat:

1/2 cup walnuts

1/2 cup pumpkin seeds

1/2 cup sun-dried tomatoes (soaked and drained)

1/2 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp garlic powder

Cashew Cream:

1 cup cashews

2-3 garlic cloves

1 tsp fresh oregano

1 tsp fresh thyme

1 tsp fresh parsley

juice of 1 lemon (about 2T)

Toppings:

1 avocado

1-2 tomatoes

handful cilantro

2 bell peppers, sliced

handful cilantro, chopped

Directions

Preheat oven to 400F. Toss potato slices with salt and pepper. Bake about 10-12 minutes and turn over. Bake for 10 more minutes until golden brown. While potatoes are becoming chips, toss all the taco meat ingredients in a food processor and process until the mixture clumps together (you'll know what this means when you make it). For the cashew cream, add all ingredients to a high speed blender and blend! You may need to add a bit of water to get the right saucy consistency.

To plate, start with the potato chips. Top with the taco meat, all of your toppings and cashew cream!

**You can even sauté the sliced bell peppers with some onion (1/2-1, depending on how much you like onion) for a delicious topping option :D

And just because you can't see the potatoes at all in these pictures...

Here's what they look like! Some of them got a wee bit crispy for my liking, but my family loved them!

I haven't made a lot of Mexican-style recipes. This was my first, very successful whack at it and now I'm inspired to experiment some more! I'm thinking enchiladas will be next....

Check out my instagram @ashleysmaldino for more recipe inspiration and amazing healing information about food!

Recent Posts

Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page