top of page

Springtime Asparagus Soup

The past few weeks at the farmers market, I've seen asparagus. I've wanted to make something fun and different with them, other than steaming, roasting or eating them raw ;)

I was reminded of the Asparagus Soup recipe in Life-Changing Foods by Anthony William when I was on Instagram a few days ago and knew this was the recipe to try! But per usual, I changed it up a bit to my liking :) I wanted a low-fat version so instead of almonds, which I didn't have on hand anyway, I used organic potatoes!

Potatoes make soups creamy and thick, especially when emulsified (a fancy word for blending with an immersion blender). So if you are looking for a way to make soups thick and creamy without using flour or some other super processed ingredient, potatoes are the way to go!

What I LOVE about this recipe is that from start to finish, prep included, it only takes 30 MINUTES!!!

Serve with a fresh salad or just have several servings like I did ;)

Springtime Asparagus Soup

Ingredients:

5 cups chopped asparagus

3-4 large green onions, roughly chopped (or 1/2 regular onion)

3 garlic cloves, roughly minced

3 medium potatoes, cubed (cut potato in half, then slice each half in half again and into quarters)

1 tsp Italian seasoning

1/4 tsp Himalayan pink salt

pepper to taste

Directions:

Add cubed potatoes into a medium-sized pot (big enough to hold 4-6 cups) with 2 cups of water. Bring water to a boil and cover for about 5 minutes. Add garlic, onion and chopped asparagus. Cover and steam for 5-7 minutes. Add seasoning, salt and pepper. Using an immersion blender, blend until smooth and creamy. Add about 1/4 cup of water or more to thin out the soup to your preference. Simmer until ready to eat or eat right away! Top with a drizzle of olive oil and fresh cilantro or parsley.

*If you do not have an immersion blender, allow soup to cool for a few minutes and transfer to a blender.

Recent Posts

Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page