top of page

Kelp + Cucumber Noodles with Pesto

A few weeks ago, I went to Cafe Gratitude and had their Kelp Noodle Pesto...it was to LIVE FOR!!!!! I'm half Italian so I LOVE basil! And this pesto definitely did not disappoint! I knew I had to recreate it at home ;)

It took a few tries (and delicious taste-testing with my mom) to get it right, but Great Scott, I've done it! I'm sure you know by now that I also like to tweak recipes to put my own spin on them, so I decided to try a new combo of mine lately...mixing cucumber noodles with kelp noodles. OH HECK YES!!!!

You get the crunch and the sweetness from the cucumber noodles and the texture and slight saltiness from the kelp noodles...match made in heaven if you ask me!

And come on...how beautiful do the noodles look mixed with the pesto?! (those are basil flowers on top, aren't they beautiful?! I love decorating dishes with them)

Kelp + Cucumber Noodles with Pesto

Ingredients:

1/4-1/2 package kelp noodles

1-2 cucumbers, spiralized

2 cups fresh basil

juice of 1 lemon

1-2 garlic cloves

1 cup cashews

1-2 celery stalks

1/2 cup water

pinch of Himalayan pink salt

**optional: 1 cup kale or spinach

Soak the kelp noodles in filtered water with a squeeze of lemon or lime for 10-20 mins. Place cucumber noodles in a large bowl. Add cashews, garlic cloves, celery stalks, water, lemon, kale or spinach (if using) and salt into a high speed blender or food processor. **Don't add the basil just yet** Process until smooth. Add basil and blend again. You may need to add a bit more water to thin out the sauce to your liking.

Add kelp noodles into the bowl with the cucumber noodles and add the sauce. Toss until the noodles are nice and saucy! Serve with spinach and more fresh basil.

Serves 1-2

Recent Posts

Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page