top of page

How to stay healthy when everyone is getting sick!


There's something about the end of summer that always brings nasty colds. Maybe it's the change in temperature and weather...who knows! But what I DO know is how to stay healthy during cold season. Yes, it's possible!

Eating fresh fruits and veggies, moving your body regularly, spending time outside, treating yourself with love and staying mindful are important to integrate into your life all the time, but especially when you begin to feel the ick and throughout.

Keep in mind that it's vital to tune into your body's needs when you are sick. Some days you may have the energy to go for a walk outside or to a restorative yoga class, but other days, ALL you may want to do is sleep and drink tea, so listen to your intuition and don't push yourself if any of this feels overwhelming to you.

Aside from eating fruits and veggies and all that jazz, here are my top tips to say adios to cold season!

  1. Thyme tea: If you are a friend of mine or follow me on Instagram or Facebook, you know how much I GUSH about thyme tea. There's a reason! Thyme kills viruses ON CONTACT which makes it one of the best foods to help you stay strong and healthy during cold season. To make the tea, simply take a few sprigs of fresh thyme, place in a mug and add boiling water. Allow to steep for 10-15 mins, add some fresh lemon juice and a spoonful of raw honey. Stir and enjoy! Yummy AND fights viruses?! This is why it's my favorite ;)

  2. Raw garlic: I know this one isn't the most popular, but garlic is anti-viral, anti-bacterial and is nature's antibiotic! It's super strong stuff, that garlic! Put a clove or two in a homemade salad dressing (I've got lots of recipes here to inspire you), make guacamole, sprinkle minced garlic on top of a salad or if you are really brave (and desperate), just eat it on its own! Just get it in. You could also juice 1-2 cloves with 1-2 oranges and 1/2-1 lemon, which is a potent and extremely effective wellness shot to make when you start to feel your throat get scratchy. Aim for 2-3 cloves per day to keep your immune system strong.

  3. Liquid zinc supplement: Most of the population is zinc deficient because our soil no longer mineral-rich and nutrient-rich composition it once did, so supplementing with zinc is really important. Zinc supports the immune system, as well as the gut. Here is the zinc I've been using for several years now and it's made a huge difference in my ability to ward off any cold going around.

  4. GREEN JUICE!! I resisted juicing for many years, even though I knew it was good for me, because I didn't want to be bothered with the effort it took to make the juice and clean up afterwards. Over the past year and a half, I've made juicing a part of my morning routine and I've really noticed how much it helps me stay healthy year-round! Celery juice is my go-to, and if I feel like adding in another juice throughout the day or for breakfast, I'll make another one or head to a juice bar with a friend. Why is juice so important?? Because the fiber is removed, the nutrients from the fruits and veggies immediately enter your bloodstream, completely bypassing the gut, so no nutrients are lost in the process of digestion! And if your immune system is already compromised because you are fighting off a cold, your body doesn't have to expend energy on digesting and can focus on healing and fighting!

  5. Lemon water: You've probably heard this before, but STAY HYDRATED! Our bodies are mostly water and if we are not drinking enough water, our bodies aren't able to function properly. Adding lemon (or lime) to water helps make the water more hydrating on a cellular level and literally breathes life back into the water, which, because of all the processing and piping it goes through to actually get to our homes, becomes dead in a way. And I really love the taste! Lemon juice is very detoxifying, especially for the liver, and when we are trying to fight off a virus, any help is necessary! I also love to add slices of fresh ginger for an extra punch of immunity.

Stay healthy!

Recent Posts

Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page