top of page

Creamy Mushroom Stroganoff with Zucchini Ribbon Noodles

Happy Valentine's Day!! I love that there is an entire day devoted to celebrating love :D although I do think every day should be a celebration of love–love for ourselves, significant others, friends, family and the world around us.

Anyway...in honor of celebrating love, I thought I would share one of my favorite recreations of a recipe I grew up with–mushroom stroganoff! But this one is entirely meat-free! Oh, and it's grain-free because of the zucchini noodles! So if any of your loved ones have specific dietary needs, you'll be able to enjoy this recipe together. Yippee!!

I worked on this recipe several times, making sure it tasted as close to what my mom used to make. It's been quite a long time since I last ate a traditional stroganoff recipe, so I had her taste test this recipe...and it was a HUGE winner!

I mean how could this NOT be?!

Mushroom Stroganoff

MUSHROOM STROGANOFF

2-3 zucchini, spiralized (ribbon setting)

1 cup asparagus or broccoli, cut into bite size pieces

1 cup mushrooms, sliced

1 Tbsp coconut oil

parsley + rosemary (optional) to top

Sauce:

1/2 cup cashews

1/2 cup almonds

1 Tbsp rosemary

1 Tbsp lemon juice

1 cup water

pinch of salt

black pepper to taste

Melt coconut oil in a large pan and add asparagus and mushrooms. Sauté for 2-3 minutes then add zucchini noodles. Sauté for 3-5 minutes.

For the sauce, blend all ingredients in a high speed blender or food processor.

Add sauce to the noodles and veggies. Turn heat to low. Mix well to coat noodles in the sauce, stirring frequently. Cover and let cook for 3 minutes or until warmed through. If you prefer a thinner sauce, add little bits of water to the pan and stir. Top with chopped parsley and more rosemary (optional) and serve. Serves 2.

Mushroom Stroganoff

Mushroom Stroganoff

Recent Posts

Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page