top of page

DIY face mask & hair mask: recipes & reviews


In my attempts to lessen my waste & lessen my exposure to icky chemicals, I've dabbled in making my own products over the past year: lotion, deodorant, toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner etc.

Until this past weekend, I had never tried a DIY hair mask & until a few weeks ago, I had never tried a facial mask. So I did some hunting on Pinterest & found recipes that were relatively simple to put together & decided to give them a try!

The first was the facial mask: baking soda, honey & coconut oil. Sounded super easy & I had all of the ingredients on hand so why not try it?! The recipe is from Beauty & the Foodie (awesome name, isn't it?!)

3 Tbl coconut oil

1 tsp raw honey

1 tsp baking soda

The instructions say to melt the coconut oil first, but I just stirred everything together (as it was a warm day so the oil was pretty soft & mixed easily). After the honey & baking soda seem well incorporated, take a pea size of the mixture & rub it all over your face & neck. Make sure to gently rub your face & neck in circles for a short bit to help the baking soda exfoliate the skin!

I let my mask stay on for 10-15 mins as I do my morning routine & then with the leftover warm water in my kettle (from my morning tea), I take a face cloth and pour the water over it to cover my face & let the steam open up my pores. I then dab my face with the warm, slightly steaming cloth to make sure I get the baking soda & honey off **I especially love this step because it feels AH-mazing**

Bottom line: TWO THUMBS UP!! The oil keeps my skin moisturized all day too, so no need for a store-bought moisturizer woo hoo! :D

Next up, the hair mask: avocado, honey & coconut oil. I must admit, I was hesitant about the coconut oil & the thought of putting honey on my hair didn't sound like it would work too well. Thoughts of when I got gum stuck in my hair came to mind for sure....but I gave it a whirl because I assumed if it was on a reputable site (Allure), it HAD to be tried & tested right??

Well....whoever tried & tested this hair mask must have had super thick & super curly, dry hair because it took me days to get all the oil out of my hair! Maybe I left it on too long, maybe I didn't measure correctly...I don't know, but what I do know is that I definitely won't be putting coconut oil or honey in my hair anytime soon!

I'm sure avocado would have been sufficient, so I think I will give that a try. Stay tuned! I'll update this post when I do :)

My hair is difficult though, so that could be the issue! It's super fine but curly, so it is CRAZY difficult to find blogs or any other resource that has insight for people with fine, curly hair like me.

Bottom line: For any of you reading this, who has fine, curly hair or knows someone with fine, curly hair...please advise them against trying ANY hair product with coconut oil in it because it will look like you just went swimming through a pool of hair gel. And it will take numerous rinses of baking soda & water over the bathtub (with the help of your mom) to get it all out.

Recent Posts

Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page